May 16, 2011

{Review & Giveaway} of Spirit Storm by E.J. Stevens

Spirit Storm (Spirit Guide, #2)Spirit Storm by E.J. Stevens

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
GENRE: YA Paranormal Romance
THEME: Ghost, Werewolves and Magic
RECEIVED: Copy from Author
AUTHOR: E.J. Steven Blog
PURCHASE: Amazon | Smashwords | B&N

BLURB:
"Let the spirits guide you, but never let them take you."

Spirits of the Dead are coming...

Yuki is about to face an army of lost souls on Samhain, the night of Halloween, when the spirits of the dead roam free. Yuki will need all the help she can get from her friends, but will Calvin be there for her when she needs him the most?


REVIEW:
The second in the Spirit Guide series, Spirit Storm just stole my heart with the storyline. I enjoyed this one better than She Smells the Dead because the plot in this one was fantastic and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. Spirit Storm picks up right where the 1st book left off and starts off with a bang in the beginning, Yuki is about to steal something from some witches…what? Yep, the spunky little goth girl might be getting herself into some trouble!

*Contains slight Spoilers from Book 1 beyond this point*

Someone is killing innocents and not just the normal kind of innocents; they are members of Calvin’s pack. Yuki and the gang jump into action to solve who is killing the wolves and why, but they have another problem with Halloween coming up the means spirits will follow. Meaning Yuki has to prepare herself for the dead start walking the land.

I loved the gang this time around Emma is forever one of my favorites because her snarky comebacks and bickering with Simon crack me up. Not to mention how much I love Simon, I’m so curious about him now that I know more about his past. I might be wrong but I really felt that in this book Simon and Emma’s tension was heading towards being more the frenemies, a possible romance later in the series?? Ha ha that might just be my wishful thinking.

The relationship with Calvin and Yuki develops wonderfully in this book, adding bits of tension and worry for the adorable couple. I enjoy that they are still learning about their connection to each other and that Stevens is taking her time with letting her characters explore their abilities more and learn from each other. I’m so very interested on how much more powerful Yuki can get or if she will get more powerful.

The plot was really what drew me into this book till the last page, I don’t want to give away too much but I loved the twist and turns that occurred. My emotions changed with each scene from surprise, worry, excitement and laughing. This book just had so much that I loved.

I cant wait to see what’s next for this group and what challenges they will have to face. I highly recommend this series for its humor, mystery, definitely the romance and the characters are just awesome!

RECOMMENDATION:
This is a Young Adult novel suited for any age. Fans of Rachel Hawkins A Hex Hall Series and Lauren Kate’s Fallen Series will love this!


View all my reviews


NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY!
ONE lucky winner will receive a
One signed Print copy of Spirit Storm!
US ONLY

Here are the rules and form to enter to win:
Giveaway Ends: May 25th



17 comments:

  1. Great Review!! I'd love the chance to win a copy of the book. I stalk you both - like EVERYWHERE!!! And my spirit animal would have to be a Tigress. Grr...

    ReplyDelete
  2. i think my spirit animal would be a cat.. just a regular house cat

    ReplyDelete
  3. my spirit animal would have to be some kind of bird so i can fly wherever i wanted probably a sparrow or an eagle

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review!! I would love a copy of this book. Followed both tweeted and comment. :)

    Lori

    ReplyDelete
  5. A cat is always my spirit animal

    Lori

    ReplyDelete
  6. I tweeted!!

    http://twitter.com/#!/hense1kk/status/70254636094865408

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great review! This book looks like fun. :)
    I think that my spirit animal would be a leopard or a margay. There seems to be a feline theme in the comments...

    I tweeted:
    http://twitter.com/#!/LiederMadchen/status/70296589146660864

    ReplyDelete
  8. My spirit animal would be a panther.
    Tweeted http://twitter.com/#!/mbreakfield/status/70316113409474561
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  9. This book sounds awesome! I'd be a wolf :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds like a great read - thanks for the review. My spirit animal would be a wolf or a hawk. Thanks for hosting. Old follower -
    bevsharp@desch.org

    ReplyDelete
  11. I am actually part Native American Indian and I do have spirit totem animals. Two of them actually. The first one is the wolf and the second one was a surprise to me..the sparrow bird.

    LadyVampire2u AT gmail DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  12. I already have spirit guides but I love each one.

    Wolf-many years have i had him
    Black Panther-been about 5 years now
    Cat-since I was born
    Lynx-about 5 years

    ReplyDelete
  13. A tiger spirit animal would be my choice. Thanks!

    Hollybwright at comcast dot net
    FCC holly wright

    ReplyDelete
  14. My spirit animal it would me a bear...

    ReplyDelete
  15. I tweeted right here http://twitter.com/#!/ohaiitschey/status/72463036430028800

    My spirit animal would be the deer because they stand for love, gentleness, kindness, gracefulness
    and sensitivity. Though I'm not always physically graceful (let's face it, I tend to fall on my butt a LOT) I think of myself as graceful when it comes to dealing with certain situations.

    Thank you so much for this opportunity!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Thanks for the review. This books sounds like a fast, fun read.

    ReplyDelete