Free Agent

Review: Free Agent by J.C. Nelson

Where You Are

Review: Where You Are by Alla Kar

Feral Sins

Review: Feral Sins by Suzanne Wright

Opposition

Release Day: Opposition by Jennifer Armentrout

Real

Review: Real by Katy Evans

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

{Review} of Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

Night Broken by Patricia Briggs
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

GENRE: Urban Fantasy
THEME: Werewolves, Romance, Vampires, and Fae
RECEIVED: Publisher

BLURB:
An unexpected phone call heralds a new challenge for Mercy. Her mate Adam’s ex-wife is in trouble, on the run from her new boyfriend. Adam isn’t the kind of man to turn away a person in need—and Mercy knows it. But with Christy holed up in Adam’s house, Mercy can’t shake the feeling that something about the situation isn’t right.

Soon, her suspicions are confirmed when she learns that Christy has the farthest thing from good intentions. She wants Adam back and she’s willing to do whatever it takes to make it happen, including turning Adam’s pack against Mercy.

Mercy isn’t about to step down without a fight, but there’s a more dangerous threat circling. Christy’s ex is more than a bad man—in fact, he may not be human at all. As the bodies start piling up, Mercy must put her personal troubles aside to face a creature with the power to tear her whole world apart.

REVIEW:

A series that gets better and better as it goes on, Briggs once again knows how to keep her readers hooked. I’m such a huge fan of the Mercy Thompson and Alpha Omega series; the characters are so widely developed and no matter what always stick to their true self in each book. What I love most is that Briggs’ lead character Mercy has grown in each book, her life is a constant change but she sticks to her instincts and I can always count on her character to never lose her persona.

Night Broken follows Mercy Thompson and the pack having to deal with the trouble that Adams ex has brought with her. Christy, Adams ex and Jesse’s mother has a stalker and it isn’t a normal kind of stalker, it’s a god and he’s not too happy. This brings a lot of drama to the pack and Mercy needs to keep calm with Christy manipulative presence putting a strain in the already tense pack. But Mercy and Adam have to now deal with the god and all the chaos that comes with him.

Mercy is a character that never lets me down, she is a constant strength and Briggs always knows how to bring the best out of her. She is dealt with a lot of low blows from Adams ex Christy, but she takes it with stride and some Mercy attitude of snark. We actually get a lot of goodies with Mercy’s interesting father Coyote and discover she has a half brother, Gary. Coyote of course is either helping or adding trouble in Mercy’s life, but in the end helps her immensely. I have a feeling Coyote knows what path Mercy is heading too and it’s frustrating at times because it feel like he’s messing with her. The readers do get some revelation to her lifeline and what it means to be a coyote shape-shifter. However I’m hoping that Briggs changes this not so fun surprise and twists it for a happier ending, I want a happy ending to this series (even if I never want it to end).

Adam, this man is such a patient and loving person. I’m so glad that Briggs brought Mercy and him together, their growing relationship and strength really make them such a fantastic couple. He adores his new wife and I love that he just gets her and understand the patients she is giving him, by having his ex barge into their lives. He also has to deal with her constant trouble streak; she always is in the wrong place and she never back down no matter the cost.

Overall this was a solid action packed plot line. The readers will get to see how their old favorites are doing like, Sam, Stefan, Tad, Warren and more of the awesome secondary characters that I have grown to love over the last eight books. The pack is still growing through their “growing” pains with Mercy and I’m happy to see some realizing that she is a good addition to their power and protection. As always Briggs brings all the right stuff with her fantastic writing, creative plot-line, always-welcomed humor and of course the ever growing Tri-Cities (home of the supernatural). I look forward to more Mercy and Adam, and can’t wait to see what challenges them next.

RECOMMENDATION:

This is Urban Fantasy novel and the eighth in the series, I recommend reading this series from the beginning. Fans of Jennifer Esteps’ Elemental Assassins series and Chloe Neills’ Chicagoland Vampire series will love Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs.


View all my reviews

1 comment:

  1. Great review. I just got my copy today, can't wait to start it. The only thing is I think this is book #8, not #7.

    ReplyDelete

linkwithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...