Mar 14, 2014

{Blog Tour: Review} of The Memory Witch by Heather Topham Wood


The Memory Witch by Heather Topham Wood
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GENRE: Young Adult
THEME: Mature, Paranormal, Witches
RECEIVED: Review for Tour

BLURB:
Ten years ago, Quinn Jacobs’ mother made a bargain with a local witch—steal away Quinn’s memories from the first eight years of her life and in return, Quinn would spend a year in servitude to the witch.

On Quinn’s eighteenth birthday, she’s forced to leave her home and friends behind. For the next year, she’ll live at the Chadwick House, learning everything she needs to know about being a spellcaster. As her powers grow, Quinn begins to unravel the secrets of the past and the reason her mother was so desperate to conceal the horrifying truth.

REVIEW:

I was not prepared for the gripping, intense and magical story that Woods created in the first installment of The Memory Witch series. There is a mix of darker dramatic twists that weaved in a bit of romance and beautiful mysterious magic.

The Memory Witch follows Quinn Jacobs, her life has taken a major turn and not in her favor. She is being sent off to live a year with a woman who bargained with her mother, as in now going to train her to be a witch. Quinn learns a lot from the mysterious witch Stella, she is at first angry with her, but as time goes on she becomes intrigued with the magic. She even becomes close with Stella’s nephew Mason, who is the one person she confides in. But magic has a price and when Quinn wants to open the doors to her missing childhood memories, she may not be prepared to see what has been hidden from her for all these years.

Quinn is a young teen with a boyfriend and a future in a good university to look forward too. But her life takes a halt when her mothers past bargain changes her path into becoming a powerful witch. Quinn never understood why the first eight years of her life were missing from her memories, but Stella her new teacher holds the answers. It was interesting to watch Quinn’s development, she is a carefree type of girl in the beginning, but as time moves on she becomes powerful and determined, almost in a scary way. I knew something terrible must of happened to her as a kid for her memories to of been blocked, but was so sad to read what really happened. Luckily she has the help and comfort Mason, who knows about her magic and slowly starts to open up to her.

Mason is a bit of a mystery at first; Stella wants Quinn to steer clear of her nephew. But Quinn feels and sees something in Mason that connects them together and the chemistry is irresistible. Mason has a dark past, broken in a way like Quinn. He becomes protective over her and both start to fall for each other despite many reasons to stay away from each other. I loved every scene with Mason and Quinn, the chemistry is off the charts and they complemented each other so well, that it made the story push through at a great pace.

Overall this was an emotional plotline that will break the hearts of the reader, but also root for the characters to seek revenge or at least find happiness among the darkness. I enjoyed the character development of both Quinn and Mason, and hope to dig a little deeper into his past as well. The ending was intense and I have no idea what Quinn will do now that she has her answers.

RECOMMENDATION:

This is a young adult novel with some beautiful magic and a darker more mature plot twist. Fans of Alyxandra Harvey’s The Lovegrove Legacy and Rachel Hawkins Hex Hall will enjoy The Memory Witch by Heather Topham Wood.


View all my reviews


Purchase:
 Amazon

About the Author
Heather Topham Wood’s obsession with novels began in childhood while growing up in a shore town in New Jersey. Writing since her teens, she recently returned to penning novels after a successful career as a freelance writer. She’s the author of the paranormal romance Second Sight series and the standalone The Disappearing Girl .

Heather graduated from the College of New Jersey in 2005 and holds a bachelor's degree in English. Her freelance work has appeared in publications such as USA Today, Livestrong.com, Outlook by the Bay and Step in Style magazine. She resides in Trenton, New Jersey with her husband and two sons. Besides writing, Heather is a pop culture fanatic and has an obsession with supernatural novels and TV shows.

www.authorheather.com | twitter.com/woodtop255

1 comment: