Aug 17, 2011

{Review} Luck of the Devil by Patricia Eimer

Luck of the Devil (Speak of the Devil #1)Luck of the Devil by Patricia Eimer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

GENRE: Paranormal Romance
THEME: Angels/Demons
RECEIVED: Review Request by Entangled Publishing
AUTHORS BLOG: Patricia Eimer

PURCHASE Luck of the Devil:

BLURB:
Being the youngest daughter of the Devil isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. The days of teenage rebellion and vows of chastity made just to tick off her father are over, and now all Faith Bettincourt wants is a nice, quiet life. Unfortunately, thanks to the unexpected arrival of her demonically-downsized sister, a ditzy succubus roommate, and dear old Dad himself, Faith’s plans for a relaxing vacation spent watching reruns go up in flames. 

Now it’s all Faith can do to keep the family reunion from Hell (literally) under wraps, and the angelically-inclined hottie across the hall from realizing there’s something weird about his neighbor. And, thankfully, it’s working. Until an angelic stalker shows up in a bid to steal her powers and take over the world. 

Forget watching reruns. With the way things are going, Faith will need the luck of the Devil just to survive until Monday.

REVIEW:
Luck of the Devil was definitely once of those books that makes a topic such as heaven and hell into something with spunk, humor, family drama and just a fantastically entertaining read.  Patricia Elmer is an author who knows how to write a story that will keep a smile on your face from beginning to end.

Luck of the Devil follows the youngest daughter of the Devil himself, Faith Bettincourt. She’s what everyone calls the nice daughter, working as a pediatric nurse and likes to live a calmer less family dramatic life on earth. But when her family comes to visit, not only do they bring drama, a stalker shows up, her dream guy next door comes to her rescue, and her roommate has been turn into a succubus. It’s not easy being a demon, the daughter of Satan, having two demon siblings and a mother who drives her nuts.

I found this novel to be such a refreshing story, there wasn’t a bit of dark creepy vibe to the story. It’s more about how very dysfunctional family of demons learn how to understand, live, and handle crazy situations together. Faith is a great lead to follow, she is the “normal” one of the family and has a sister who I felt was annoying at first but she grew on me and a bother who is a pain but he as well grew up a little. Her parents were a hilarious pair to watch together and they have tiffs here and there that just cracked me up.

I really enjoyed the addition of characters from heaven and how they fit into the family and gave more funny moments to the story. Just imagine the Devil and God playing Mario Cart together and you’ll understand what I mean.  I also loved the relationship between Faith and her neighbor Matt, he’s a bit of a mystery and someone who I felt fit her personality perfectly.

Overall I felt the first couple of pages were a bit slow, but once everyone was fully introduced and I was able to get the craziness of the family I couldn’t get enough and I really hope there is more to come of Faith and her family.

RECOMMENDATION:
This is an adult book with minor adult situations and a humor side of good and evil. Fans of Katie McAlister and Gena Showalter will enjoy Luck of the Devil.



View all my reviews

1 comment:

  1. Oh I want to read this. It sounds so cute and fun!

    ReplyDelete