Aug 3, 2011

{Review} Illicit Magic by Camilla Chafer

Illicit Magic (Stella Mayweather #1)Illicit Magic by Camilla Chafer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GENRE: YA Paranormal Romance
THEME: Witches/ Magic
RECEIVED:  The Bookish Snob Book Tour
AUTHORS BLOG: Camilla Chafers Blog

PURCHASE Illicit Magic

BLURB:
More than three hundred years after the most terrifying witch hunts the world has ever known, it's happening again. 

Young witch, Stella, has to put her faith in strangers just to stay alive but she might not be any safer in their midst than from the danger she is running from. 

There is more than one dark secret in her new family: √Čtoile’s sister is spoken of in fear and sadness; Marc is supposed to be a powerful witch but is missing his magic; where does the owner of their safe house vanish to every day and why does Evan have the eyes of someone not quite human? There is only one secret that someone will do anything to keep quiet, but whose secret is it and will Stella have to pay the price for silence?

REVIEW:
Illicit Magic was a wonderful surprise and I was happy to be asked to review this magical new series. This is a story full magic, mystery and lots of unexpected action and of course the romance.

Stella Maryweather is a young woman who lives a life of temp jobs, moving around from place to place trying not to make people uncomfortable. For some reason since she can remember Stella has always had strange things happen and people have started to notice.  Sometimes those strange things are frightening occurrence and luckily she’s usually done with the job before more rumors start. But he life turns into an even bigger problem when scare men try to hunt her down like a witch and a woman appearance at her house rescuing her from the hunters.  Stella is soon introduced to a world where witches do exist and are hiding from these hunters. She learns how to control the power she possibly has, her family and the past that she never knew about.

Stella is a funny, clumsy and innocent woman, who really has struggled with life. She is known as a weirdo, never had a relationship and doesn’t have any friends.  Growing up with foster families, she got a tough skin from people being afraid of her when strange things always happening. I loved that her feeling never got hurt no matter what people said about her, she tough it out.

The characters and friends that Stella meets after being sucked into the magic world are fantastic. I loved their different personalities and magical abilities. Etoile and her sister Serene were two favorites, they always think the same and know whats going on, know one can really hide things from them. Kitty, spunky, sweets and fashion lover was a lighter and fun character who always made me smile. Evan and Marc, the boys who catch Stella’s eye and make her heart beat just a bit faster. They are both extremely different had have unique abilities and have a lot of secrets.

Overall this was a fun and entertaining stories with everything that I love about books of witches. Magic, mystery and romance are always a good mix with lots of shocking surprises along the way. The beginning took me a while to get into but after meeting the rest of the characters I flew through the pages. The ending was a bit of a cliffhanger and made me want the next installment Unruly Magic. I highly recommend Illicit Magic.

RECOMMENDATION:
This is an adult book with minor violence and a bit of sexual content. Fans of Kim Harrisons and Devon Monks magical stories, will definitely love Illicit Magic.



View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment