Jun 22, 2011

{Review & Giveaway} Reality Stink by Ashlynn Monroe (Superheroes!!)

Reality StinksReality Stinks by Ashlynn Monroe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GENRE: Science Fiction Romance
THEME: Superheroes!
RECEIVED: BLB Book Tours
AUTHOR LINK: Ashlynn Monroe

BLURB:
When Dina’s wellspring of reality television program ideas runs dry, she’s desperate to save her job. Dina’s friends are no ordinary friends. To save her job she comes up with I want to date a superhero. Unfortunately, the only superhero she knows is Zane Blair. He’s the only man she’s ever loved. Comedy hijinks ensue when you take one reluctant bachelor, ten attention seeking woman, and one very evil super villain.

REVIEW:
I want you call an ultimate comic book nerd, some people see me and think no way! But yes I’m a dedicated comic collector along with my dad. So when it comes to books and superheroes I know what I liked and when it comes to super powers they’ve got to be cool! Reality Stinks by Ashlynn Monroe was just so much fun and had some hot romance scenes!

Dina was the best of the best of reality television, well she use to be… After a year of flops she’s about to get her last chance in creating a hit or she will be out of a job. Luckily she has connections with a superhero, yes a real life superhero. Mind-Man aka Zane has extraordinary powers and works with others to fight crime in their city.  The love of his life wanted normalcy and left him behind for her career, until she needed him to help save her career. Dina needed Zane to star in her new show “I want to date a superhero,” regretfully he agrees.

I loved the story, I was laughing and biting my nails as I read through this. The relationship between Dina and Zane was so much fun to read about as it developed and I enjoyed reading about their pasts. Of course the super powers and villains were all there and I really felt like I was reading a comic book. I was sucked into the story and got really attached to the characters.

Dina and Zane come from a horrible past along with a couple of others who were experimented on. Her character reminded me a lot of Lois Lane and how tough and determined she was. As Zane didn’t have Superman’s power but he had some really awesome abilities.   All the secondary characters I loved, even the villains. Monroe really knows how to pull her readers into her story.

I’m really hoping for a second book because I’m dying to know more about the mysterious Caspian.  I recommend this to readers who enjoy action, superheroes, romance and a fun and fast paced story.


RECOMMENDATION:

This is an adult novel with sexual content and a bit of violence. Fans of Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series and Chloe Neill’s Chicagoland Vampire series will love this!


View all my reviews

GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED
NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY!!
Fill out form to enter
earn extra points by following Ashlynn!



6 comments:

  1. I would either like to fly or be able to go invisible.. I think either one of those would be cool! :o)

    Thanks,
    Mickey @ imabookshark

    ReplyDelete
  2. Mental Telepathy.

    Donna

    http://mylife-in-stories.blogspot.com

    I have a give away this week. Would love for you to enter. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks so much for stopping by everyone. I wrote this book to cheer myself up and It's become one of my favorites on my backlist.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'd want to be able to teleport, because I hate sitting in traffic and I think it would come in really handy for lots of other things as well.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I would want to have super-speed and super-strength! Think how much I could get done! Thanks for a great giveaway:)

    ReplyDelete