A Shot of Red

Giveaway: A Shot of Red by Tracy March

Ophelia Prophecy

Review: The Ophelia Prophecy by Sharon Lynn Fisher

Off the Record

Review: Off the Record by K.A. Linde

Pretending

Review: Pretending by Shanna Clayton

Dark and Deadly

Excerpt + Giveaway: Dark and Deadly by Multiple Authors

Thursday, February 28, 2013

{Blog Tour} Review of Forever Girl by Rebecca Hamilton


The Forever Girl by Rebecca Hamilton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GENRE: Paranormal
THEME: Romance, Magic, Vampires
RECEIVED: Blog Tour
AUTHORS BLOG: Rebecca Hamiltons' Site

BLURB:
“Whatever you do, fight.”
Sophia’s family has skeletons, but they aren’t in their graves.
At twenty-two, practicing Wiccan Sophia Parsons is scratching out a living waiting tables in her Rocky Mountain hometown, a pariah after a string of unsolved murders with only one thing in common: her.

Sophia can imagine lots of ways to improve her life, but she’d settle for just getting rid of the buzzing noise in her head. When the spell she casts goes wrong, the static turns into voices. Her personal demons get company, and the newcomers are dangerous.

One of them is a man named Charles, who Sophia falls for despite her better judgment. He has connections that might help her unveil the mystery surrounding her ancestor’s hanging, but she gets more than she bargains for when she finally decides to trust him.

Survival in his world, she learns, means not asking questions and staying out of the immortal council’s way. It’s a line she crossed long ago. If Sophia wants to survive the council and save the people she loves, she must accept who she is, perform dark magic, and fight to the death for her freedom.
Forever Girl will appeal to lovers of paranormal fantasy, mystery, romance, and horror.

REVIEW:
The Forever Girl follows Sophia a girl who is treated like an outsider in her own town. People around her think she’s a witch and is constantly wishing to leave her town and start over. One night out with her friend changes everything after she becomes a target by supernatural beings, learning that the paranormal world truly exists and finding out how she’s connected to it.

Sophia is a young girl who practices Wiccan and after one of her spells goes bad she starts hearing voices, She stays a constant strong willed young woman throughout. She does however accept the paranormal world a little too easily, though she is wary, I personally would of thought it would be more real to freak out a bit. As she becomes more involved in the paranormal, she learns about her heritage and learns the meaning of a Forever Girl. I feel most readers will connect with Sophie; she pulls herself into this new world and becomes very involved in the changing in herself and around her.

Charles is a mysterious, frustrating, and the main protector for Sophia. When the readers are first introduced to him he’s intrigued by Sophia, unsure about her and can seem to stay away. I loved the vampire’s that Hamilton created, like Charles; they can shift into animals that make them stronger. Charles is definitely an old soul and his connection with Sophia is paced perfectly. There is no insta-love, the relationship is developed slowly and the readers get the feeling of a real relationship.

Overall this book caught me a bit off guard, I had heard of it before and wanted to read it a while back. I’m glad to have finally read it; it reminds me of the older vampire books. The unique plot; with the Salem witch trials, eerie settings and romantic couple in a paranormal world. There is one major shocker that I didn’t see coming and that was with one of her closest friends; Hamilton did a wonderful job connecting all these small details that made the story that much better. The pace is a bit slow in the beginning, but once I reached the middle I was hooked, there are a lot of things that connect in the end and Sophia is taking on a journey that will forever change her life.

If your looking for a fresh paranormal story with memorable characters, romance, historical plots twist, and a mystery that will shock you then Forever Girl is a must read.


RECOMMENDATION:
This is a Young Adult books with a mix of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal magic and some adult content for a mature reader.. Fans of Brodi Ashtons Everbound series and Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy series will enjoy Forever Girl by Rebecca Hamilton.

View all my reviews

No comments:

linkwithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...