Oct 30, 2012

{Deity Tour: Review + Giveaway} Deity by Jennifer Armentrout


Seeing Night Reviews is the next stop in the Deity blog tour hosted by StuckInBooks. Dont miss out on the Twitter party on Novemeber 2nd: Deity Party. A big thank you to Spencer Hill Press and the wonderful Jennifer Armentrout!

Deity (Covenant, #3)Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

GENRE: YA Fantasy
THEME: Myths/Romance
RECEIVED: Spencer Hill Press
AUTHORS BLOG: Jennifer Armentrouts Site

BLURB:
"History is on repeat, and things didn't go so well the last time. "

Alexandria isn't sure she's going to make it to her eighteenth birthday--to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she's a goner... and so is Aiden.

If that's not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time "training"--which really is just Seth's code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time--she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she's caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed... and destroyed.

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate..

REVIEW:
Seriously, I thought that nothing could top the last book in the Covenant series but Deity just knocked it out of the park. I wish I would give this book a million stars for how great it was. Everything happened that I didn’t expect and till the very end was so shocked and never wanted this book to end. Jennifer Armentrout knows how to keep her readers on the edge of our seats and begging for more.

Deity follows once again the trouble attracting Alexandria. Her birthday is almost here, meaning her Awakening. But for some reason her marks start appearing sooner with each interaction with the oh so frustrating Seth. Though even with the Awakening coming there is much more to worry about when gods start making an appearance and someone close to her becomes the ultimate enemy.

Alex, I don’t even know where to begin. This girl keeps going through hell and back and seriously cant catch a break. She’s pretty alone in this book for the first half after loosing her best friend Caleb. Seth is there for her or at least trying to be there 24/7. But with the orders from her Uncle she needs to be guarded every second of the day, not knowing where the enemies are waiting for her. Alex has a lot on her shoulders and I give her major kudos for being able to get through it all. She even catches a break with her relationship with Aiden. But in the end there is no stopping her Awakening and the major power struggles will begin.

Aiden, love this boy to death! He’s had his ups and downs but every time he always redeems himself with that big heart of his. His number one priority is protecting Alex, even dealing with Seth pushing his buttons. Some major changes happen and he’s once again put in a scary situation with not being able to protect Alex after someone betrays them all. I don’t want to give away too much but this scene was crazy and I was so shocked it happened. This was a major aspect of the plot and really solidified Alex and Aiden’s relationship. In the end he is still by her side for the Awakening and he too is surprised about what has happened.

Seth, okay I have to say I have a major soft spot for this bad boy. It’s hard for me to deal with love triangles but there is so much too love about this guy. Overall someone is using him and I think power and authority just blinded him. His relationship with Alex is really tested and there is so much heartbreak but also some major intense moment that I hope Alex can help him. I can’t say much more but Seth I feel can redeem himself and I’m hoping for it.

Overall this was one of the most intense and heart-pumping novels I have read in a while. I was pretty much closing the book every five minutes saying “ No way!” because there was just so much that I loved and was surprised about. The romance is killer, the suspense made me want to pull out my hair and the surprises were so shocking that I dropped my book a couple times. All the secondary characters are back and have major roles in helping keep Alex safe, plus the addition of the gods.

This is the best book by far in the series, the writing is fast paced and wickedly addicting with ever turn of the page. Then there is the end! Yes, the ever so shocking and holy moly did that just happen ending. The fans are going to love it and be screaming for the next book because I know I am. Love this book and series to pieces, and highly recommend it.


RECOMMENDATION:
This is a young adult novel that gets more and more addicting with each book. Fans of Jennifer Esteps Mythos Academy series and Aimee Carters Goddess Test series will love Jennifer Armentrouts Covenant series.

View all my reviews

ARC Copy USA/Canada Only
a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 comments:

  1. These books really have just gotten better!!! Great review. Thanks for participating.

    Valerie
    StuckInBooks.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a wonderfully enthusiastic review. You must be the toast of this and other authors. Well done for such a fine write up, introducing the characters without giving the plot away. Great work.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I cannot wait for Deity! I can't wait to find out what this HUGE cliffhanger is!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have read J. Lynn's work before in her adult section, but not her previous works that everyone is so enthusiastic about... it's time I find out! Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Whoop! Glad you loved it!! Cannot wait to read Deity :)
    Ninja Girl

    ReplyDelete
  6. I can't wait to read this book! It sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm totally hooked on this series and love the love triangle so far. I wonder if who's team I'll favor at the end of this one. Thanks for your thoughts!

    ReplyDelete