Mar 13, 2012

{Review} of Cobbogoth by Hannah L. Clark

Cobbogoth: Book 1Cobbogoth: Book 1 by Hannah L. Clark
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GENRE: YA Fantasy
THEME: Elements, Myths
RECEIVED: Review Request for The Teen Book Scene
AUTHORS BLOG: Hannah L. Clarks Blog


BLURB:
To seventeen-year-old Norah Lukens, the Cobbogothians were just a myth. But after her archeologist uncle's brutal murder, and being asked to translate one of his old research journals for evidence, she begins a journey to discover the truth for herself. 

Chasing the myth her uncle was obsessed with, Norah learns that his murder was a cover up for something far more sinister. If she hopes to save others from suffering the same fate he did--including the peculiarly magnetic James Riley--she must head to Iceland in order to find out the truth once and for all. 

If she succeeds, she'll gain the one thing she's always longed for. 

But if she fails, not even the gods can help her.

REVIEW:
I love mythology, but what I enjoy even more is when an author creates their own myth and a world all out of their imagination. Hannah Clark crafted a myth about the Cobbogothians, a race of magical beings who lived in a hidden world. I absolutely enjoyed this novel, though it was a lot of information to take in, it was full of adventure, mystery and a bit of romance.

Cobbogoth follows Norah, a young girl coming home to her Uncle only to discover he’s been murdered the same day she returns home. Little does she know that he had been keeping a family secret from her and has left her his journal to solve what happened to him. Since he didn’t get a chance to tell her anything Norah is putting the pieces together of his death and her connection to a mysterious myth.

Norah has always known about the myth of the Cobbogothians, her uncle was famous for his archaeological finds. She’s also extremely intelligent and is able to decipher her uncle’s notes. But this puts her in extreme danger; she has the help of her childhood friend James, who seems to know more than he’s willing to tell. Norah is a girl who seems like she would make a great detective, what she solves and learns is a lot for someone to take in. But she does it with stride, determination and courage, even when danger lies ahead for her.

James is a whole big mystery, at the beginning I was kind of angry with his character (for reason you will read about) and I wasn’t sure if he was good or bad. But he’s extremely important and connected to Norah and the mystery behind her uncles death. I wish I could say more but it would give too much away.

Cobbogoth is a book with one mystery after the other, I never knew what to except with each turn of the page. And speaking of pages, the illustrator designed not only the outside of the book but did wonderfully designed drawings throughout the entire book. The ending didn’t leave the reader with a killer cliffhanger, but there is hope for another installment if Clark decides to continue with her mythological story. I highly recommend this to fans of fantasy and mythological tales.

RECOMMENDATION:
This is a young adult novel that’s suited for all ages. Fans of Aimee Carters Goddess series and Jennifer Esteps Mythos Academy series will love Hannah Clarks unique mythology story Cobbogoth.

View all my reviews

1 comment:

  1. This looks like a novel i'd enjoy. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete