Oct 8, 2011

{Review} of Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!


Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

GENRE: YA Urban Fantasy
THEME: Gods/Daimons
RECEIVED: Received for review from Spencer Hill Press
AUTHORS BLOG: Jennifer L Armentrout



BLURB:
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck

REVIEW:
I love stories based on Greek gods and their mythology, but Half Blood by Jennifer Armentrout takes the mythology to the next level. I was immediately hooked and dreaded having to put down my kindle to sleep and to work. I had to know what was going to happen next.

Half Blood follows a young girl named Alex, whose mother was tragically killed by a Daimon, an evil being that needs to feed and kill. She and her mother left the safety of the Covenant, a place for those who have the blood of a god over generations. But now Alex has been found and must face what she left behind. Luckily she is given a chance at redemption and if she behaves and does well in training, she will be welcomed back into the Covenant. Little does she know the secret her mother kept from her, the dangerous future that lies ahead and that two men would forever make her life and love life difficult.

Alex is a girl who feels she has nothing left but to learn to fight and kill the very thing that took her mother. I liked how she seemed like such a solid rock but inside she really needed people. Her friend Caleb was a great character and always there for her, but I also loved the addition of family that made the twist in the stories plot that much more awesome.

Aiden a warrior at heart is a major strength for Alex and her trainer. I loved his character, he made some pretty tough decisions but was always there to support Alex, and I really can’t wait to learn more about him in the next books. Even more so his chemistry with Alex is like wood and fire, it’s a burst of sparks and heat.

Then there is Seth; his is a powerful person, someone with an interesting tie to Alex. I don’t want to give away anything but I’ll say I really like his character, with all the sarcasm and how full of himself he can be, he’s a very likeable character and I love his personality. I can’t wait for more of Seth.
Overall Half Blood is at the top list of favorite books this year, I wish I read this sooner but I knew that if I started it I would never be able to stop reading. I highly recommend this novel; it has great characters, myths, romance, family and friendship.

RECOMMENDATION:
This is a young adult novel filled with an exciting twist of the Greek mythology. Fans of Jennifer Esteps Mythos Academy and Rachel Meads Vampire Academy will love Half Blood.


View all my reviews


Since I loved this book so much I decided to do a giveaway, Half-Blood will be released on the 18th and  1 lucky winner will get a copy from me after it's released.

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION
Must be a GFC follower
USA Only sorry
Leave a comment with your name and emai information
ENDS Oct. 20th
+1 Follow me on Twitter @SeeingNight
+1 Tweet about giveaway: 
Win Half Blood A fantastic new YA series by Jennifer Armentrout over at @SeeingNight Blog #yalit #giveaway

15 comments:

  1. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!!!!

    paigebradish@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the great giveaway!

    Tiffany
    tiffanyinwonderland(at)hotmail(dot)com

    +1 Twitter Follower: @tiffanydearxo
    +1 Tweeted: http://twitter.com/#!/tiffanydearxo/status/122704072624177153

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a fantastic read. I'll have to add it to my to be read pile.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Half Blood sounds like a wonderful book and I'm looking forward to reading it.

    Barbed1951 at aol dot com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks!!

    Hollybwright at comcastdotnet
    GFC holly wright

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'd love to read this. Thanks for the giveaway!
    GFC name: Erinberry
    +1 follow on twitter(@Erinberry12)
    +1 tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/Erinberry12/status/122877789836804096

    erinberry12 at charter dot net

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks for the giveaway! This sounds like a fab read!

    GFC: Aeicha @ Word Spelunking
    email: wordspelunker(at)gmail(dot)com

    +1Follow on Twitter: @wordspelunker
    +1Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/WordSpelunker/status/122961929613484032

    ReplyDelete
  8. I really want to read this book!

    GFC Unabridged Bookshelf
    email unabridgedbookshelf(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ahh! I love the author. She writes books like rabbits make babies. :)
    So glad you loved it since I haven't read it yet.
    New GFC follower: lindadao2060
    Twitter follower: @Book_Ninja
    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/book_ninja/status/123018341899177984

    Thank you!
    Lindadao2060 at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  10. great giveaway
    follow via gfc
    drakebdog@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Great review! I love mythology and I have heard wonderful things about this book. Thank you for sharing! :)

    GFC - Lieder Madchen
    Twitter - @LiederMadchen
    http://twitter.com/#!/LiederMadchen/status/123310373137940480

    Natalie
    liedermadchen(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  12. Great giveaway. Please count me in.
    GFC follower CrystalGB
    Crystal816[at]hotmail[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  13. Amazing giveaway, thanks for the chance

    GFC follower
    +1 twitter follwoer-@joleneallcock
    +1 tweeted- http://twitter.com/#!/joleneallcock/status/124264641034596352

    june111(at)att(dot)net

    ReplyDelete
  14. Fantastic giveaway! thx so much!

    gfc follower: kristina shields

    spicedice45@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  15. Already a Follower on both
    GFC ~ Anna Dase
    Twitter ~ @amdase
    Tweeted
    http://twitter.com/#!/amdase/status/126284039807184896

    berrylicious_cutie(at)hotmail(.)com

    ReplyDelete