Sep 19, 2011

{Review} of Brightest Kind of Darkness

Brightest Kind of Darkness (Brightest Kind of Darkness series book 1)Brightest Kind of Darkness by P.T. Michelle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

GENRE: YA Paranormal Romance
THEME: Dreams/Future
RECEIVED: Received for Review from Author
AUTHORS BLOG: P.T. Michelle's Site

PURCHASE Brightest Kind of Darkness:

BLURB:
Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore. 

After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate. 

Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.

REVIEW:
P.T. Michelle’s Brightest Kind of Darkness is a book that kept me guessing, the plot and characters were so original and beautifully written its taken a top spot in one of my favorite Young Adult story for this year.  To live everyday and know exactly how each detail is going to happen,  but what happens when you see something that you know needs to change?

Everyday since Nara was little has known how her days were going to pan out. Why? Because each night she dreams about how the next day is going to be for her.  But past consequences made her choose wisely what to change; until a bombing occurs at her school she feels she had no choice but to change it. Then everything changes, and not for the better, no dreams, people getting injured, the mysterious Ethan becomes her closest friend and something dark is after Nara.

Nara has to make some quick choices; she’s a tough girl that has to deal with some pretty harsh students at her school. I really felt bad for her, with her dreams gone Nara has to learn how to study, play soccer and be herself without the help of her dream. She has many girls who are definitely the mean girls of the school treating her horribly; I wanted to punch half of them for Nara. Michelle’s details in portraying the bullies in her school hit an emotional cord. But in a good way, I can’t imagine what some kids go through with bullies these day but you really get an understanding in this novel.

Ethan is the cute, dark and mysterious new guy in the school. People stay far from him but Nara feels a connection and a need to be near him. He’s very closed off about himself but opens up to Nara and the secrets of his past. I loved their chemistry and the way that they give each other strength. There is so much to Ethan that I loved, but I feel if I talked about it, it would spoil the story so I’ll just say he’s pretty awesome and I can’t wait to learn more about him and the mysterious tattoos.

Overall this was such a joy to read, it was dark, mysterious, romantic, and most important it made you think. With each turn of the page I was surprised and really taken with this story. The ending left me hanging a little but I’m happy that the mystery is just starting to unfold. I highly recommend The Brightest Kind of Darkness.


RECOMMENDATION:
This is a young adult book with intense situations and lots of twist and turns that will leave young on the edge of your seat. Fans of Jennifer Echols and Ally Condie will love this series.


View all my reviews

5 comments:

  1. Hi Kristen,

    Thank you so much for the great review and the recommendation. I'm so happy you enjoyed Ethan and Nara's story.

    P.T.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love books that keep you guessing! Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a great read. Wishlisting it ASAP. Thanks for the fab review. :-) _yay_ @ BookthatThing!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just bought this book! I can't wait to read it! Great review Kristen! ♥

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds like a very interesting ability. I can definitely see how having it and then losing it would create some very difficult situations.

    ReplyDelete